parallax background

DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION OF A PORT TERMINAL

THE IMPLEMENTATION OF AN IOT SOLUTION IN A SHIPPING PORT

An IoT and B2B project for more security and better data processing
icons-compacer-03

RAPID ROI

Realisation of several digitalisation and integration projects in the shortest possible time with the best cost-benefit ratio. High cost savings through standardised B2B Gateway.

MORE SECURITY

Networking of various access control systems in the port area to increase security.
icons-compacer-05

BETTER ANALYSIS AND PROCESSING OF LOGISTICS DATA

Detection of real container weight, comparison with the planning data and hand-off to further processing systems via the IoT/B2B Gateway.
Prozessoptimierung

PROZESS TRANSPARENCY

Monitoring of the containers loaded and shipped to inform other carriers. Recording of the weight and dimensions of the cargo and automatic determination of its location aboard the ship.

The project at a glance

CHALLENGE

The port’s IT structure was to be modernised so that the port terminal could master the digital transformation and remain competitive.

The existing IT landscape was highly heterogeneous and had to be integrated. It was therefore important to include and connect legacy systems so that all existing systems could communicate with each other, and achieve more transparency in doing so. Existing data could already be evaluated, but the evaluation was to be made even more granular by connecting additional sensors. The focus here was on bringing together the “old” world and the new world of IoT.

A further focus was to guarantee the required high level of port security and provide the relevant access control measures.

OUR SOLUTION

It was decided to implement a B2B/IoT Gateway that would serve as a data hub for the Terminal Operation System (TOS) and an integration platform for the process-oriented integration of the existing heterogeneous and autonomous application systems in port logistics. The main tools here were compacer’s products edbic and edpem.

Various integration projects were realised in a very short time: a classic EDI project, but also the connection of a wide variety of applications, such as time recording and access control for audits, or the connection of existing container bridge control systems via the IoT Gateway.

3D scanners and truck scales were connected to the TOS to record cargo weights and dimensions. This also had the positive effect that the location of the cargo space aboard the ships can now be located. Weighing sensors on grabber forklifts now allow to register container weights and transmit and record these data. The real weights are automatically compared with the planning data, analysed, visualised and passed on to superordinate systems such as the TOS or stowage planning systems.
parallax background

OUR CLIENT

,a port terminal, is the largest multi-purpose terminal in Europe. Thanks to its location close to the North Sea and the Channel, the port offers an ideal location for the most important road, water and rail connections in Europe. Different types of freight are processed here every day. These include general cargo, containers, project cargo, heavy lifts, cars and other RoRo units.

Send message now!

Are you also considering an IoT project? No worries!

Our experts can help you with the digital transformation.

READ MORE

You will find more assets in our download section

parallax background

DIGITALE TRANSFORMATION EINES HAFENTERMINALS

IMPLEMENTIERUNG EINER IOT-LÖSUNG IN EINEM HAFEN

Realisierung eines IoT- und B2B-Projekts für mehr Sicherheit und bessere Datenverarbeitung
icons-compacer-03

SCHNELLER ROI



Realisierung mehrerer Digitalisierungs- und Integrationsprojekte in kürzester Zeit mit minimalem Kostenaufwand im Vergleich zum Nutzen. Hohe Kostenersparnis durch den Einsatz von IoT.

MEHR SICHERHEIT



Vernetzung der unterschiedlichen Zutrittskontrollsysteme im Hafengelände zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit.
icons-compacer-05

BESSERE ANALYSE & VERARBEITUNG VON LOGISTIKDATEN

Erfassung von Containergewicht, Abgleich der Daten mit den Plandaten sowie Übergabe an weiterführende Systeme mittels IoT-/B2B-Gateway.
Prozessoptimierung

PROZESSTRANSPARENZ



Überwachung der verladenen Container für andere Frachtführer. Erfassung von Gewicht und Abmessung der Ladung sowie der damit verbundenen Bestimmung des Stellplatzes auf dem Schiff.

Das Projekt im Überblick

HERAUSFORDERUNG

Die IT-Struktur des Hafens sollte modernisiert werden, so dass der Hafenterminal der digitalen Transformation standhalten konnte und weiterhin wettbewerbsfähig bleibt.

Es fand sich eine heterogene IT-Landschaft vor, die es zu implementieren galt. Wichtig war, dass die vorhandenen Legacy-Systeme integriert und vernetzt werden sollten, so dass eine Kommunikation innerhalb der Systeme stattfinden konnte, die zu mehr als der bisherigen Transparenz führen musste. Vorhandene Daten konnten zwar bereits ausgewertet werden, aber die Auswertung sollte mittels Anbindung von Sensorik noch granularer erfolgen.

Im Vordergrund stand hier die Implementierung der „alten“ Welt in die neue IoT-Welt. Ein weiterer Fokus wurde auf die hohe Hafensicherheit gelegt und die damit verbundene Zugriffskontrolle.

UNSERE LÖSUNG

Man entschied sich für die Implementierung eines B2B-/IoT-Gateways, das als Datendrehscheibe für das Terminal-Operation-System (TOS) dienen sollte sowie einer Integrationsplattform für eine prozessorientierte Integration der vorhandenen heterogenen und autonomen Anwendungssysteme in der Hafenlogistik. Hauptakteure waren hier die beiden compacer Produkte edbic und edpem.

Verschiedene Integrationsprojekte wurden in kürzester Zeit realisiert: ein klassisches EDI-Projekt, aber auch die Anbindung unterschiedlichster Anwendungen, wie z.B. Zeiterfassung- und Zutrittskontrollsysteme für Audits oder die Kommunikationsanbindung von Steuerungssystemen bestehender Containerbrücken mittels IoT-Gateway.
3D-Scanner und LKW-Waage wurden an das TOS zur Erfassung von Gewicht und Abmessung der Ladung angebunden. Das hatte ebenfalls den positiven Effekt, dass die Bestimmung des Stellplatzes auf dem Schiff lokalisiert werden konnte.

Ebenfalls wurden Wäge-Sensoren von Greifstablern zur Erfassung des Containergewichts angebunden und die Daten erfasst. Diese wurden mit den Plandaten automatisch abgeglichen und an übergeordnete Systeme, wie z.B. TOS, Stauplanung weitergegeben, analysiert und visualisiert.
parallax background

Unser Kunde

ein Hafenterminal, ist das größte Mehrzweckterminal in Europa. Der Hafen bietet dank seiner Lage nahe der Nordsee und des Ärmelkanals einen idealen Standort für die wichtigsten Straßen-, Wasser- und Schienenverbindungen in Europa. Hier werden täglich verschiedene Arten von Fracht verarbeitet. Dazu gehören u.a. Stückgut, Container, Projektfracht, schwere Aufzüge, Autos und andere RoRo-Einheiten.

Jetzt Nachricht senden!

Sie denken auch über ein IoT-Projekt nach? Kein Problem!

Unsere Experten helfen Ihnen weiter wenn es um die digitale Transformation geht.

MEHR ERFAHREN

Weitere Materialien finden Sie in unserem Download Bereich